Simplicity

So I’ve been having these thoughts lately. Thoughts that have previously popped into my mind, but were quickly thrown out. But lately, they’ve been taking root, growing like weeds, and sprouting into ideas. I know, I know, I’m supposed to be guarding my mind and the like, but there is something different about these thoughts. These musings, if you will, have caused my nature much calamity yet comfort at the same time.

Once upon a time, a few weeks ago, I worked up the courage to reveal these notions to my husband. He stared at me in bewilderment. Upon recovery, he asked that I repeat myself, just to make sure he had heard me correctly.

He had. Because I, ladies and gentleman (Mom, you better sit down for this one), have decided that I have too much stuff.

That’s right. I’m uncovering a new me while uncovering the floor at the same time. I long for simplicity. You know those days where your house doesn’t clutter faster than you can clean it? Or when you can walk into the spare room (a.k.a. store room) to see everything neatly organized in place? When you spend the majority of your free time working on the actual project instead of looking for the materials to start? Neither do I.

20151231_123613[1]

But all that is about to change.

This morning I was reading this list of 200+ things to get rid of. This is a wonderful comprehensive list but thankfully I haven’t been on my own long enough to collect half of that stuff. So I’ve decided to set a few of my own parameters for decluttering for us “just-starting-out/still-establishing/I-live-in-an-apartment-that-can-physically-only-hold-so-much” people.

1 year rule:
If I haven’t used it since I’ve been married, it needs to go.

For me that means 1 year. My husband and I are coming up on our 1 year anniversary so we’ve been though all the seasons together, living under the same roof. This makes my job easy. If I haven’t used it/worn it in the time we have been married, chances are I’m not going to.

20151231_124403[1]
I have 5 containers of mousse. From 3 different countries. I can’t even use mousse in my hair. Time for these to go.

1-for-1:
If you bring one thing in the house, you have to take one thing out.

If you’re not quite ready for a purge, start small and get rid of something every time you bring another in. This helps to at least keep a balance in the number if items in your home. Once you’re comfortable with that, graduate to 2-for-1. Every 1 thing you bring in, toss 2 things out, and so on and so forth.

Inventory:
Go through and tally up your clothes, cosmetics, and/or other things you find you have a decent sized collection of. Like lotion:

20151231_124723[1]

Write it down. Once you plainly see on paper just how many duplicates you have, it becomes apparent where to begin. I went through and tallied up my coats. 14. FOURTEEN. 2 winter coats, 4 fall jackets, and 8 peacoats. I knew I had a few coats lying around here and there but 14?! And those are just the ones I could find quickly. My husband has a grand total of 1 and somehow manages to survive. Now I’m not saying go to that extreme, but find a balance.

Store seasonal clothes:
Get storage bins and pack away clothes no longer in season.

This is more of an organizational method. When the cold weather rolls around, chances are you won’t be wearing shorts. Pack all things summer away with some potpourri to keep them sweet-smelling. This frees up space in you closet and saves time getting ready in the morning because you don’t have so many options. AND it feels like Christmas in July when you unpack your summer clothes and rediscover what you forgot you had.

20151231_124758[1]

Hanger-flipping method

Turn all your hangers away from you. When you wear an item, put it back with the hanger facing the correct way. After a year, get rid of the hangers still facing backwards.

The end of the year is upon us and this would make a great New Year’s resolution. I’ve been wanting to try this method but never got around to it. If the hanger flipping is bothersome or annoying, when putting clothes back in your closet, put it on the left side. The unused clothes will eventually migrate to the right side. At the end of 6 months/1 year/ however long you choose, reevaluate the unused clothes. Are you really going to wear them? If a year has passed and you haven’t, chances are you won’t.

A place for everything and everything in it’s place.
This last one is easy. If it doesn’t have a place, don’t make one for it.

On the table does not count. A lot of things have seemed to gather on my table, microwave, and other various surfaces. Those “I-don’t-have-a-place-for-this-but-I-want-to-keep-it-handy” type things. You know what I’m talking about. I have this skill attribute to see the potential in junk. It’s a blessing and a curse. When walking through goodwill, I see so many things I could take home and transform into something useful for the house. I also have this other thing called a short attention span. That, coupled with a busy schedule, just leaves me with boxes of random junk that should probably get thrown away.

 

Now it’s time to put these methods into practice. But first I will leave you with a before picture of my closet(s) (only because I’m not brave enough to show the rest of the before pictures until I have after photos alongside them).

6 thoughts on “Simplicity

  1. Renee says:

    Wow Nat! This is very surprising lol. So proud of you!
    My favorite parts: that you have 14 coats, and that’s only what you could quickly find. Jeff was shocked when I read him that part lol. Also, 5 containers of mouse you can’t even use for your hair… and from different countries? haha love it.

    Keep us updated on your progress!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amy Weber says:

    You can’t go wrong with de-cluttering! What’s even neater is that de-cluttering stuff ends up simplifying our lives. I love that! Here’s a few questions that helped me in the 2 years I spent purging our united households after Lee and I got married: What 10 items in this room are necessary for our long-term well-being? What 10 can we edit out? Does this item give good feelings, bad feelings, or no feelings?

    Another idea which helped me was to visualize an area as I wanted it to be before de-cluttering it. Knowing it would be beautiful when I got done helped me get beyond having to toss things and made the angst worth it.

    Keep up the good work! You’ll be glad you did. 🙂
    Love, Mom

    Like

    • Natalie Morell says:

      I can’t remember if it was you or Sim that told me that but one way to get rid of things is to walk in to a room, set a timer, and make a mental note what what’s in there. When the time is up, go to another room and write down everything you can remember. Now go back and check. Whatever is in the room and not on the list goes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

