Fall Style

Happy September! Weather here in Wisconsin has been anything but steady. We’ve had days anywhere from curl up with a blanket 50° weather to days of blast the air conditioner 90° weather just in the past few days! Today it has settled back down to a cloudy 69°.

That can only mean one thing. Autumn is approaching! Fall is by far my favorite season. Candles, cardigans, boots, apple pie, pumpkin carving, warm scents, cider, classical music, apple orchards, pumpkin patches, and leaves changing color are only a few things that excite me about fall. Speaking of classical music, I’m setting the mood with George Winston’s Autumn album (the full album is on YouTube!) and The Piano Guys.

Change in the weather means a change in the wardrobe. You can’t very well brave the cold front with bohemian shorts and crop tops. Well you can but the BarlowGirl lyric: “look so hot but caught a cold” springs to mind. It’s almost time to pack away the summer styles to make room for the fall fashions.

From the fringe to denim & suede to flare bottoms, you don’t have to look far to see that the 70’s & 80’s have made a comeback. I was watching a new show the other day and it took me a while to realize it was set in the 80’s because the fashions were exactly what was being worn today. But since I am, in the words of my sister, “a self proclaimed hipster,” I’m not going to bother telling you about the latest fashions because I probably won’t be wearing them anyway. That isn’t to say I won’t partake in a few pieces here and there, just whatever fits my style.

And what exactly is my style? My style (or at least the style I’m aiming for) is preppy meets hipster with a splash of class. I love everything from: tights, skirts, dresses, cardigans, and blazers to oxfords, boots, and pearls. Here’s what it looks like:

How 20 Fashion Girls Wear Knee-High Socks | StyleCaster:

I am loving these over-the-knee thigh high socks. 

20 Ways to Dress Like a Schoolgirl Without Looking Like a Total Cliché | StyleCaster:  20 Ways to Dress Like a Schoolgirl Without Looking Like a Total Cliché | StyleCaster:

how to wear oxford shoes:   20 Style Tips On How To Wear Oxford Shoes: 5. Oxford shoes and thigh-high socks are a match made in heaven, and make a skirt and cardigan work for cooler weather.:

20 Ways to Dress Like a Schoolgirl Without Looking Like a Total Cliché | StyleCaster:  Fitted with Daisies Dress, Cable Cardigan, Skully Double Drop Pendant, Tudor Tall Sock, Daub's Clog (bldg 25 blog).:

Tights with shorts: 

I love those shorts. If my legs were as long and as skinny I could wear this.:   Behind The Scenes At Mill Mercantile #refinery29 http://www.refinery29.com/mill-mercantile#slide13 Name: Kelsey Williams Gig: assistant manager What do you love most about working at Mill? "I'm not a California native, so I really enjoy being able to interact with the amazing people who live in this city. I've learned so much about San Francisco and the joys of other people's lives here just from being around our customers! And, I can't even begin to describe how wonderful the girls I ...: short and tights always a good combination and this fine lace pattern ...so lovable!:
And patterned tights!

Sweater with printed shorts #SocialblissStyle #Shorts:    Winter Shorts and Tights. I usually dislike shorts, but I dig on this pretty heavy.:

Plaid: 

Classic Preppy Fashion:  Classic Preppy Fashion:

Betina Lou/Fall-Winter 2012-13:   :
And/or gingham:
Gingham + Baubles + Knits:  casual:

Tweed:

Black and White tweed skirt with ruffled top.>>> I'm not sure I like that particular skirt but the whole style is really cute.:  25 Shades Of Grey Women Office Wear Ideas | Styleoholic:

fall style:

Skirts:

Love how the entire outfit is monotone besides the print on the skirt...perfect for fall and winter:  .:

Thankful: Featuring a Chicnova Cardigan - Twenties Girl Style:  The Moptop: Holly & Ivy why are her outfits so perfect? can i please just have your closet? Thanks(::

lace:  Fall Fashion: Classic Simple:

Blazers:

20 Style Tips On How To Wear A Blazer:  preppy: tartan: blazer:

And last but not least – Shoes!
Oxfords:
SHOES:  oxford:  :  totally oxford-y:

Boots & more:

 :  Ribbon flat shoes:  Must-have accessory for Fall: Printed tights! We love these Herringbone tights paired perfectly with knee-high boots.:  Neutral suede ankle booties | Sole Society Lyriq:

 :  <3 this look from the ModCloth Style Gallery! Cutest community ever. #indie #style:

All these photos are from Pinterest. For more, check out my pinspiration boards: Preppy Class & My Style.

One thought on “Fall Style

Leave a Reply

